Posted by: Bruce Black | April 1, 2012

Trusting the Process

“As soon as you trust yourself, you will know how to live.” Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Over the past few months I’ve taught a series of writing yoga classes at Garden of the Heart Yoga Center in Sarasota.

When I first offered to teach the classes, I had no idea what direction the classes might take or if anyone would attend the first class. All I knew was that I’d made a commitment to teach and the first class would meet and I needed to find a lesson.

I decided to start with the theme of Mindfulness because that seemed to be what I needed to focus on, and I trusted that if I could make it through that first class, I’d find a way to discover another theme for the following class… and the following.

Each week I found another theme to explore: Mindfulness, Opening Our Hearts, Listening, Expectations, Compassion, Observing, Intentions, and, last, Trusting the Process.

What we discovered in our last class was that beginnings are the same for all of us. No one knows the future or if our actions will bring about the results that we hope for.

Learning a new recipe, beginning a new relationship, stepping into a new pose, writing in a new page in our journals, teaching a new class–each step leads into the unknown, and we have to learn how to reach into the unknown without knowing how things will turn out.

When I started teaching the classes, I didn’t know what shape the classes might take. Each class helped me find my way to the next class… and to the next stage of the process.

As I prepared for each class, I had to find a way to trust in the process without worrying about outcomes or results, and that trust, once I found it, carried me through the process of exploring the unknown and teaching a new class week after week.

At times, life can feel like a swiftly flowing river, and our actions can feel like unsteady steps that we take in search of stepping stones to cross the river safely.

Trusting the process can help us find the stones to make our way across the river day after day, pose after pose, one word at a time.

Practice Journal: Think of an activity that requires you to reach into the unknown. It might be learning a new yoga pose, starting a new relationship, or taking a new class. What lets you make the journey from not-knowing to knowing? What stepping stones help you find your way? If you stumble, how do you recover your balance? How do you learn to trust the process?

Leave a Reply

Categories

